Lasagna Soup {Gluten Free}

I told you I’d be adding recipes to the blog as I puttered along getting things set up and here’s one of them now. This is one of my favorite comfort foods to make. It’s also another way I destress. Mostly because these days I don’t need the recipe, I just sort of function on autopilot and in an hour we eat. I would eat this every week if I could, it is SO good!

I got this recipe a few years back from a tea friend. Her website is currently under construction, but you should go bookmark it if you like tea. Just saying…

On to the recipe! Below is everything you need and how to make it. In all honestly there might be a way for you instapot lovers to make this even quicker. If you find a way let me know as I need to convince the mister I need one. K thanks!

Ingredients

1 package Turkey Sausage (I use Italian flavored turkey sausage, but feel free to use regular sausage to any spice level you like)
1 green pepper (chopped)
4 cloves of garlic or more if you like (minced)
1 heaping tablespoon dried Basil
1 heaping tablespoon dried Oregano
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 large can diced tomatoes
6 cups chicken stock
1 package Pasta (I use Heartland gluten free Fusilli)
salt/pepper to taste

Cheese mixture

1 package Ricotta cheese
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

Mix everything in the cheese mixture together and pop in the fridge until you’re ready to serve!

In a large soup pot cook Turkey Sausage until done. Add chopped green pepper to the pot with garlic, and dried herbs. Add tomato paste and stir to combine. Cook for 5-10 minutes until spices are fragrant and paste has started to caramelize.

Add full can of diced tomatoes and chicken broth. Also start to heat your pasta water now. Stir everything together and bring to a boil – once boiling, simmer over low heat for 30 minutes. Start cooking the gluten free pasta now in a separate pot…trust me.

Once everything is good and cooked….

Prepare your bowl with as much of the cheese mixture as you like in first and put the cooked pasta on top. Spoon the hot soup over top, add salt and pepper and let the cheese melt a bit. And enjoy!

If you aren’t gluten free you simply add your regular pasta to the pot for the last fifteen minutes of cook time and there’s one less pot to clean!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

